Cobb School Board Members to Take Oath

Two incumbents and two newly elected representatives will be sworn in Wednesday.

Four of the seven members of the Cobb Board of Education will be sworn in during a special meeting on Wednesday.

The swearing-in ceremony takes place at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday at the Cobb County School District Central Office board room, 514 Glover Street, Marietta.

That meeting will be followed by an organizational meeting at 5 p.m.

Incumbents David Morgan, a South Cobb Democrat, and David Banks, an East Cobb Republican, will be sworn in to serve second terms.

Also taking the oath of office on Wednesday is Brad Wheeler, a Republican who defeated incumbent Alison Bartlett in a West Cobb-area election.

Randy Scamihorn was unopposed in his race for a North Cobb-area seat. He is also a Republican and succeeds fellow GOP member Lynnda Eagle, who did not seek a second term.

The organizational meeting will set the formal 2013 board meeting schedule and include election of a chairman and vice chairman for the calendar year.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »